Who are the most successful trainers in Grand National history?

Some iconic names in the mix here!

Ginger McCain with his Grand National winner Amberleigh House


The Grand National is one of the few high-profile races that gives the smaller stables a chance to mix it with the big boys.

For all the superstars Nicky Henderson has had through his yard over the years the Lambourn handler has never won the race, while Willie Mullins has only saddled the first past the post in Aintree’s feature on one occasion.

There is no single trainer with the most winners in the history of the Grand National, but it is a pretty exclusive club of three handlers with four victories apiece.

Ginger McCain is the standout name in the pack as he saddled Red Rum, the most famous horse of all-time, to a record-breaking hat-trick of successes in 1973, 1974 and 1977.


He had to wait more than a quarter of a century for his fourth winner in the Grand National as Amberleigh House rolled back the years to claim the top prize in 2004.

Fred Rimell – E.S.B (1956) Nicolaus Silver (1961) Gay Trip (1970) and Rag Trade (1976) – and George Dockeray – Lottery (1839) Jerry (1840) Gaylad (1842) and Miss Mowbray (1852) – are the other trainers to have four winners in the Grand National.

Gordon Elliott is the most successful trainer with a horse in the 2023 renewal and the Cullentra handler could join the elite gang of four winners if one of his six runners come out on top.

There are eight other Grand National-winning trainers with runners in this year’s marathon including our very own Ruby Walsh’s dad, Ted, who saddles the top-weight Any Second Now.

2023 Grand National Trainers To Have Previously Won The Race

Gordon Elliott – 3 – Silver Birch (2007) Tiger Roll (2018 & 2019)
Emmet Mullins – 1 – Noble Yeats (2022)
Henry de Bromhead – 1 – Minella Times (2021)
Lucinda Russell – 1 – One For Arthur (2017)
Donald McCain Jr – 1 – Ballabriggs (2011)
Venetia Williams – 1 – Mon Mome (2009)
Martin Brassil – 1 – Numbersixvalverde (2006)
Willie Mullins – 1 – Hedgehunter (2005)
Ted Walsh – 1 – Papillon (2000)

Read These Next on the Grand National 2023

The latest racing odds are on PaddyPower.com now

The Paddy Power Guide To Safer Gambling – Everything You Need To Know