Shergar Cup 2022: All you need to know including the format, races and teams

Ascot's popular team competition is back for another year!


You’ll either love it or hate it. Nope, not Marmite, we’re talking about the Shergar Cup.

It certainly seems to divide horse racing fans but the team competition is one of the most popular fixtures on the summer calendar in the UK.


What is lacks in top-level renewals, it more than makes up for in uniqueness as the organisers originally intended for it to be the horse racing equivalent of the Ryder Cup.

If you don’t have the foggiest about the Shergar Cup or simply want to swot up on this year’s meeting, you’ll find all the key details below.

Shergar Cup 2022 format

The Shergar Cup is a one-off race day at Ascot where jockeys compete in teams based on geography and gender. There are 10 runners in each race on the card and the first five home score points for their jockey’s team. The team with the most points after the final race of the day win the Shergar Cup, which is a a silver trophy of the legendary Shergar.

Winner: 15 points
Second: 10 points
Third: 7 points
Fourth: 5 points
Fifth: 3 points

Shergar Cup 2022 teams

A total of 16 jockeys are split into four teams in the Shergar Cup, which are Great Britain & Ireland, Europe, Rest of the World, and the Ladies. The teams for the Shergar Cup 2022 are as follows:

Great Britain & Ireland: Jamie Spencer, Danny Tudhope, Neil Callan and Kieran Shoemark
Europe: Frankie Dettori, Antonio Fresu, Rene Piechulek and Jose-Luis Martinez
Rest of the World: Takeshi Yokoyama, Christophe Lemaire, Kerrin McEvoy and Jason Collett
Ladies: Hayley Turner, Nicola Currie, Hollie Doyle and Emma-Jayne Wilson

Shergar Cup 2022 races

The Shergar Cup initially comprised six races but the card has been increased to eight contests in 2022.

13:00: Dubai Duty Free Shergar Curtain Raiser Classified Stakes
13:35: Dubai Duty Free Full Of Surprises Classified Stakes
14:10: Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup Dash
14:45: Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup Stayers
15:20: Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup Challenge
15:55: Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup Mile
16:30: Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup Classic
17:05: Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup Sprint

You can run the rule over the runners and riders on our snazzy Racecards page or you can head over to to see the latest odds.


The latest racing odds are on now

The Paddy Power Guide To Safer Gambling – Everything You Need To Know

What do you think?