Grand National fences: Order of jumps, total and which are taken twice

Know the order of the Grand National fences before the race begins!

Grand National fences order of jumps


The Grand National fences provide some of the most iconic moments in sporting history. From Tiger Roll leading the charge over The Chair to the Foinavon pile-up in 1967, fences have produced memorable upsets and astonishing feats of equine athleticism ever since the first Grand National in 1839.

But if you’re new to horse racing betting then you might not know much about the Grand National fences and the order they’re in. You might also be unaware that many of these fences are jumped twice during the Grand National.

So Paddy Power is here to explain everything you need to know about the fences at the Grand National, so you can better predict the next jumps during the big race and impress your mates with your knowledge.

How many fences are at the Grand National?

The Grand National consists of 30 fences over the 4mile, 2-and-a-half furlong course. Since its inception the race has been famed for being a gruelling steeplechase that only horses with the best stamina in the business can master.

The fences are evenly distributed across the Grand National course and pose varying challenges to the horses. Some are the minimum height standard for National Hunt fences at 4ft 6in, while The Chair is the biggest fence at 5ft 2in. Water jumps and open ditches are also part of the Grand National course.

Grand National fence order

Horse take a sharp left at Canal Turn (GETTY)

Grand National fences order

The Grand National fences order stays the same each year and includes iconic horse racing jumps such as Valentine’s and Becher’s Brook. The order is as follows…

1 & 17 Plain fence – 4ft 6in high

2 & 18 Plain fence – 4ft 7in high

3 & 19 Westhead – 5ft high, open ditch

4 & 20 Plain fence – 4ft 10in high

5 & 21 Plain fence – 5ft high

6 & 22 Becher’s Brook – 4ft 10in high, drop between 6in and 10in on the landing side

7 & 23 Foinavon – 4ft 6in high

8 & 24 Canal Turn – 5ft high

9 & 25 Valentine’s Brook – 5ft high

10 & 26 Plain fence – 5ft high

11 & 27 Booth – 5ft high, open ditch

12 & 28 Plain fence – 5ft high

13 & 29 Plain fence – 4ft 7in high

14 & 30 Plain fence – 4ft 6in high

15 The Chair – 5ft 2in high, open ditch on landing side

16 Water Jump – 2ft 6in high, water pond behind

Which Grand National fences are taken twice?

Of the 16 Grand National fences jumped during the race, 14 of them are taken twice. These are the first 14 of the course and include Westhead, Becher’s Brook, Foinavon, Canal Turn, Valentine’s Brook and Booth.

The two fences that aren’t re-jumped are The Chair and the Water Jump. That’s because they are situated near to the Grand National finish line. So, when the horses charge towards the grandstands on their second lap, they move right and away from the jumps to instead gallop on the home straight.

The Chair is considered the toughest jump of the entire Grand National and racing betting fans will often hold their breath as their picks leap over the 5ft 2in fence. Vault that and suddenly the rest of the race seems a lot easier to handle!



What do you think?