Who has won the most World Cups? List of World Cup winners ahead of Qatar 2022

They've won it five times!


Brazil travel to Qatar as the red-hot favourites in Paddy Power’s World Cup outright betting market.

The Seleção are the most successful team in the history of the tournament with five victories, but they have not conquered the globe since 2002 when the likes of Ronaldo, Ronaldinho, Rivaldo and Cafu were in their pomp.


A teenage Pele inspired Brazil to their maiden win at the 1958 World Cup before successfully defending the Jules Rimet Trophy four years later. They were awarded the cup on a permanent basis following their third triumph in 1970.

Brazil became champions of the world for the fourth time thanks to a penalty shootout defeat of Italy in 1994, before Ronaldo hit a brace against Germany in the 2002 final for their fifth and most recent success.

Coach Tite has named 12 Premier League players in his 26-man squad for the first ever winter World Cup including Manchester United trio Antony, Casemiro and Fred and attacking Arsenal pair Gabriel Jesus and Gabriel Martinelli.

Brazil kick off their campaign in Group G alongside Cameroon, Serbia and Switzerland.

Germany and Italy are the next most successful nations in World Cup history with four victories apiece.

Argentina, France and Uruguay have won the tournament on two occasions each. England and Spain have topped the lot once.

World Cup winners

Brazil – 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002
Germany – 1954, 1974, 1990, 2014
Italy – 1934, 1938, 1982, 2006
Argentina – 1978, 1986
France – 1998, 2018
Uruguay – 1930, 1950
England – 1966
Spain – 2010

Read More on the World Cup 2022

The latest football odds are on PaddyPower.com right now

The Paddy Power Guide To Safer Gambling – Everything You Need To Know

What do you think?