World Cup Golden Boot winners: Every top goalscorer from 1930 to Harry Kane in 2018

Some decent finishers in here.


*All prices are bang up to date with our snazzy widgets, while odds in copy are accurate at time of publishing but subject to change

Harry Kane heads to Qatar bidding to win the World Cup Golden Boot at back-to-back tournaments.

The England superstar hit six goals at Russia 2018 as the Three Lions roared to the semi-finals before falling short against Croatia.


He is the favourite in Paddy Power’s World Cup Golden Boot betting market and has the added motivation of needing just three strikes to break Wayne Rooney’s England goalscoring record.

If Kane fails to top the scoring sheets in Qatar then that means we’re likely to have a new name to add to the roll call of World Cup Golden Boot winners.

Harry Kane England

Former Real Madrid star James Rodriguez fired six goals for Colombia at the 2014 World Cup but the South American nation have failed to qualify for this year’s edition, while 2010 winner Thomas Muller has only scored three times in 15 club appearances this term.

Uncle Paddy is giving you the chance to bag free bets if you have a punt on our top goalscorer market.

All you have to do is back a player to be the World Cup 2022 Golden Boot winner to the tune of a tenner and you’ll land a £/€1 free bet every single time they register a Shot on Target.

You’ll also get a bonus £/€1 free bet for every goal scored to go with the warm fuzzy feeling of knowing that your outright punt has taken a step towards landing.

World Cup Golden Boot winners

Every World Cup has had a top goalscorer but the first time an award – the Golden Shoe – was introduced was at the Spain 1982 World Cup. It was rebranded as the Golden Boot in 2010.

1930 – Guillermo Stábile (8 goals)
1934 – Oldřich Nejedlý (5 goals)
1938 – Leônidas (7 goals)
1950 – Ademir (8 goals)
1954 – Sándor Kocsis (11 goals)
1958 – Just Fontaine (13 goals)
1962 – Flórián Albert/Valentin Ivanov/Garrincha/Vavá/Dražan Jerković/Leonel Sánchez (all 4 goals)
1966 – Eusébio (9 goals)
1970 – Gerd Müller (10 goals)
1974 – Grzegorz Lato (7 goals)
1978 – Mario Kempes (6 goals)
1982 – Paolo Rossi (6 goals)
1986 – Gary Lineker (6 goals)
1990 – Salvatore Schillaci (6 goals)
1994 – Oleg Salenko/Hristo Stoichkov (6 goals)
1998 – Davor Šuker (6 goals)
2002 – Ronaldo (8 goals)
2006 – Miroslav Klose (5 goals)
2010 – Thomas Muller (5 goals)
2014 – James Rodriguez (6 goals)
2018 – Harry Kane (6 goals)

Read More

The latest football odds are on right now

The Paddy Power Guide To Safer Gambling – Everything You Need To Know