Ashes 2021-22 schedule, match dates, times, results and England squad

All you need to know about the five-match Test series.


*All prices are bang up to date with our snazzy widgets, while odds in copy are accurate at time of publishing but subject to change

England are Down Under as they attempt to wrestle back the Ashes from Australia. The hosts are in possession of the Ashes after a 2-2 draw on English soil in the summer of 2019 was enough to retain the urn.

You’re probably sick of reading about coronavirus but a whole host of related issues means it’s the latest start for an Ashes series in Australia since the late 1970s. The Barmy Army will not be able to travel to Australia due to restrictions but there might be a smattering of local fans to cheer them on.


It’s fair to say the supporters will be missed because England’s recent record Down Under is less than impressive. The Aussies romped to a 4-0 victory in 2017-18 to regain the Ashes and the hosts enjoyed a whitewash in 2013-14.

There’s been controversy for the Aussies in the build up to the 72nd Ashes, however, as Tim Paine stepped down as captain over a historical investigation into explicit messages to a female co-worker. He has been replaced as skipper by fast bowler Pat Cummins, with Steve Smith as vice.

It’s shaping up to be a spicy series and you’ll find all the key information you need ahead of the Ashes 2021-22 below.

What is the Ashes 2021-22 schedule?

The Ashes 2021-22 follows the standard best-of-five test match format. The series has been condensed into 40 days due to various issues arising from the coronavirus pandemic.

First Test
December 8-12 – The Gabba, Brisbane

Australia won by nine wickets. 

Second Test
December 16-20 – Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

Australia won by 275 runs.

Third Test
December 26-30 – MCG, Melbourne

Australia won by an innings and 14 runs.

Fourth Test
January 5-9 – SCG, Sydney

Match drawn.

Fifth Test
January 14-18 – Bellerive Oval, Hobart
Starts at 04:00

Who is in England’s Squad for the Ashes 2021-22?

England have taken an 18-man squad to Australia for the Ashes 2021-22. The standout name is star all-rounder Ben Stokes, who is back in the fold after taking a break from cricket in July to protect his mental health.

James Anderson and Stuart Broad are the only members of the squad who were involved in England’s last Ashes success Down Under, when they won 3-1 in 2013-14.

Joe Root (c), Jos Buttler (vc, wk), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Zak Crawley, Haseeb Hameed, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Dawid Malan, Craig Overton, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Ashes Tips

  • Cricket tips: Paddy’s ultimate betting preview for Australia v England in the Ashes
  • Cricket tips: 3 best bets for Australia v England in the fifth Ashes Test

Read More

The latest cricket odds are on right now

The Paddy Power Guide To Safer Gambling – Everything You Need To Know

What do you think?